Kasier Wilhelm Memorial Church

Otherwise known as the Gedächtniskirche ,this neo Romanesque church was built-in 1895 by Frans schwechten, the church today features a mix contemporary church architecture as well as the ruins from when the church was bombed during World War 2.  The church is located in West berlin and seen as anti-war memorial for peace.

Kaiser-Wilhelm-Memorial-Chu

It was built-in 1895 as a memorial to Kaiser Wilhelm 1st who took troops o France, Denmark and Austria and forged new allies returning to Berlin successful, it is considered a symbol of the cold war and now is popular tourist spot. However on our visit to Berlin the church was under construction and the church tower was sheltered.

During world war 2 the church was bombed the ruins are still preserved on site, in the 1960’s the church tower was added to by Egon Eirmann creating a jagged silhouette  and a hollow shape on the building which it’s now know for as  the ‘broken tooth’ in addition to this colour glass were placed in the church, there is only the memorial hall that shadows the horrific damage that the war caused. Eirmann’s new design includes an octagonal shape with hexagonal bell tower and a worship room. The church was consecrated in 1962 on the same day that Coventry Cathedral was being opened after the being bomb also. To mark this occasion a cross was made purely from nails from the old Coventry cathedral.

cross

Upon visiting the church whilst in Berlin we found that the church is currently being renovated and was all closed off so unfortunately we were unable to visit and photograph the ‘broken tooth’.

Ruth Heavey

Refs

http://www.reuters.com/article/2008/08/12/us-germany-church-gedaechtniskirche-idUSLC68957820080812

http://www.berlin.de/orte/sehenswuerdigkeiten/kaiser-wilhelm-gedaechtniskirche/index.en.php

15 thoughts on “Kasier Wilhelm Memorial Church

  1. After exploring a few of the blog articles on your
    website, I truly like your technique of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.
    Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and
    thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page repeatedly.

  3. You really make it appear really easy with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really
    one thing which I believe I might never understand. It sort of feels too complicated
    and extremely huge for me. I’m taking a look forward on your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

